Pelahatchie News

Good News You Can Use PRSRT STD U.S. POSTAGE PAID PELAHATCHIE, MS PERMIT NO. 4 Pelahatchie News P.O. Box 771 Pelahatchie, MS 39145 INSIDE THIS ISSUE Legislature recognizes PHS football team for historic season - pg. 4 Harrison received ERA's Leah Cunningham award - pg. 11 June 2019 Volume 8 Issue 6 Pelahatchie, MS A Caring & Friendly Atmosphere Treating Children, Adults, and Seniors Cleanings • Fillings Extractions • Whitening Dentures • Crowns Root Canals • Implants and More The StateAuditor’s demand is not going away On May 21 of this year, the one-year mark from when State Auditor Stacey Pickering issued the $500K demand for misspent drug forfeiture funds, the Mississippi Attorney Gen- eral (AG)’s Office filed a suit against Pelahatchie town officials, past and present, in Hinds County Circuit Court to recover more than $1,175,934.70 in restricted money missing from the Pela- hatchie Police Department Drug Seizure Fund. In January, town officials, includ- ing former Mayor Knox Ross, Jr. and current board members Margie War- ren, Michael Adams, Frank Boyd and others, filed a claim in Rankin County Circuit Court asking for relief from the State Auditor's (OSA) demands. The town officials’ case said that the AG and OSA "are using their government might to bring financial ruin on a small town, part-time servants who used windfall drug seizure money to improve the safety and wellbeing of the citizens of the Town of Pelahatchie." The suit that Frank Trapp and Phelps Dunbar filed on behalf of the town officials against the State Au- ditor and Attorney General was officially dismissed May 15, 2019. Frank Trapp and Phelps Dunbar are no longer counsel of record for these indi- viduals. Quotes from the State Auditor's Special to Pelahatchie News As part of the Pelahatchie High School (PHS) graduation on May 21, Jordan Victoria White was named the 2019 senior class valedictorian with a GPAof 100.39. White was a member of the tennis team, Beta Club and Student Tech Team and President of the Stu- dent Council and the Book Club. She was recognized for having ACT High Honors and is being inducted into the Pelahatchie High School Hall of Fame. The daughter of Jay and Katie White, she has been accepted into the Missis- sippi Excellence in Teaching Program and the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College at the University of Mississippi. Brenna Claire Renfroe was named the 2019 senior class salutatorian. She holds a GPA of 99.17. Renfroe was recognized for having ACT High Honors and is being inducted into the Pelahatchie High School Hall of Fame. White, Renfroe lead PHS Class of 2019 Special to Pelahatchie News Harper, Macon receive ERA’s top honors Jackson Harper and Mollie Macon were named East Rankin Academy (ERA)’s Valedictorian and Salutatorian, respectively. In addition to being named valedicto- rian, Harper also received the honor of being named East Rankin’s STAR Stu- dent with an ACT score of 35. Harper served this year as Student Body Sec- retary and as vice-president of the ERA Chapter of the National Honor Society. He was a member of Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Honor Society, ACT Ac- ademic Team, and served as captain of East Rankin’s award-winning quiz bowl team. Harper was selected to the Rankin County Chamber of Commerce Youth Leadership Program and he is also a member of the varsity tennis team and school’s robotics team. He was named a Blitz16/BankPlus Scholar Athlete and an Alfa Insurance Scholar Athlete. Harper plans to continue his education Special to Pelahatchie News Jackson Harper (above) is ERA’s 2019 Valedic- torian, and Mollie Macon (below) is ERA’s Salu- tatorian. Special to Pelahatchie News continued on page 3 Special to Pelahatchie News continued on page 3 Jordan White (above) is the 2019 PHS Valedic- torian, and Brenna Renfroe (below) is the PHS Salutatorian. continued on page 3 Harper named Pelahatchie Deputy Clerk Special to Pelahatchie News Barbara Harper is the new Town Deputy Clerk. She started May 22. Pictured (l to r) are: Harper, Mayor Ryshonda Beechem, and Alderman Pro Temp Margie Warren.